It’s a happy anniversary as Hammers boxers score clean sweep

PUBLISHED: 10:31 11 October 2012

Thomas Galbraith took a close verdict over Joe McDonagh in a bout that had the crowd on their feet and cheering

Thomas Galbraith took a close verdict over Joe McDonagh in a bout that had the crowd on their feet and cheering


West Ham Boy’s Club celebrated their 90th Anniversary in superb style in Ireland on Saturday, when they faced a Dublin select squad hosted by Monkstown BC and completed an 11-0 clean sweep.

Alfie Simmons got the Hammers off to a flying start with a convincing win against Jamie Keaveney. He put on the style, showing his ability which earned the Boxer-of-the-Night award for for his classy display.

Another prospect in the Hammers squad, Thomas Galbraith, took on Joe McDonagh in a thriller that had everyone in the arena on their feet, with Galbraith taking a close verdict.

Hard-hitting Charlie Kenny wasted no time in his win against Eric Carroll, rocking his rival from the bell and forcing the referee to stop the contest after just one minute.

The juniors were concluded with wins for Sid Driscoll and Joe Walder, as both Hammers displayed their silky boxing skills.

The senior performance of the night was a close call between Liam Desmond’s win against Pat Ursu and Teejan Massaly’s win against Joe Condron.

Desmond lost the first round against the aggressive Ursu, but rallied to command the next two rounds and take the win.

Massaly was floored by Condron in the first round, but got up to dominate the remainder of the contest with his slick boxing skills and take the verdict.

Jordan Reynolds concluded a clean sweep for West Ham with an action-packed win over popular local lad Karl Kelly, who took the opening round but was floored by a body shot as the Hammer hit back to take a well-deserved decision.

Results (Hammers names first): A Simmons WU pts J Keaveney; P Galbraith WU pts R Ryan; A Collinson WU pts A Kavanagh; S Driscoll WU pts T Sherry; J Walder WU pts J Maughan.

T Galbraith WM pts J McDonagh; C Kenny WRSC 1 E Carroll; C Driscoll WU pts M Byrne; L Desmond WU pts P Ursu; T Massaly WM pts J Condron; J Reynolds WM pts K Kelly.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Newham Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Newham Recorder