FA Vase: Canning Town lose nine-goal thriller

PUBLISHED: 11:21 23 October 2016

The FA Vase Trophy (pic Empics)

The FA Vase Trophy (pic Empics)


Canning Town 4 Biggleswade 5 (after extra time)

Essex Olympian League outfit Canning Town went out of the FA Vase after a dramatic nine-goal thriller at Terence McMillan Stadium.

Having knocked out Essex Senior League side Southend Manor on penalties in the previous round, the home side made a bright start in a goalless opening quarter of an hour.

But, despite dominating, Julian Edwards saw a penalty saved midway through the first half as the scoreline remained blank.

Canning Town were awarded a second spot-kick two minutes later, though, and made no mistake this time around as it was converted by Dean Pearson to give them a deserved lead.

But although they were worth their lead at the interval, the home side were pegged back six minutes after the restart when a George Riley cross was turned into his own net by Barratt.

And Biggleswade then took the lead on 56 minutes when some sloppy play in the Canning Town ranks led to keeper Nick Wilson conceding a penalty which was successfully converted by Riley.

The visitors went close to a third, before Canning Town got themselves back on level terms as Tommy Phillips smashed home their second goal of the tie on 65 minutes.

But Biggleswade regained the lead with just eight minutes left when a ball across the box was controlled and put beyond Wilson by George Bailey.

Their joy was shortlived, though, as Canning Town squared matters once more just three minutes later, when the ball was rammed home by Ky McClements following a scramble in the box to force extra time.

The hosts had a great chance to take the lead during the first half of the extra period, before doing so in the 107th minute as Edwards fired home.

But parity was restored just three minutes later as the ball was played into the six-yard box by Mark Franklin and Tom Cookman’s close-range header made it 4-4.

Wilson produced a superb one-handed save to deny Biggleswade a fifth and the visitors also had an effort ruled out for offside.

But they won it four minutes from time when Cookman got in front of his marker to turn the ball home from close range to claim the ninth goal of a remarkable contest.

Canning Town: Nick Wilson, Jay Dyer, Jack Mooney, Matt Betts, Neil Barratt, Chris Barratt, David Tilley, Roy Darbo, Mark Argent, Billy Field, Orien Jaha, Shaun Farnum, Paul Henry, Tommy Phillips, Dean Pearson, Jeff Gowland, Beko Dushku, Sam Carter, Julian Edwards, Fran Albero.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Newham Recorder

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists