Landslide victory for Stephen Timms in East Ham for General Election 2017

PUBLISHED: 04:13 09 June 2017 | UPDATED: 14:58 09 June 2017

Stephen Timms retains East Ham seat in General Election 2017

Stephen Timms retains East Ham seat in General Election 2017


Labour’s Stephen Timms has retained his East Ham seat in the General Election 2017 with an enormous win of 47,124 votes.

In his 20th year of being an MP, Mr Timms once again surpassed 40,000 votes, while his nearest rival only managed 7,241 votes.

He said it was a “wonderful” victory and thanked his campaign team for all their support.

The full results for East Ham are as follow:

Stephen Timms (Labour) 47,124

Kirsty Finlayson (Conservative Party) 7,241

Afzal Choudhry (Friends Party) 311

Chidi Oti-Obihara (Green Party) 474

Daniel Oxley (UKIP) 697

Mirza Zillur Rahman (Independent) 130

Glanville Williams (Liberal Democrats) 656

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Newham Recorder. Click the link in the orange box above for details.


Let’s get physical! One of the dangers of lockdown is to be lulled into laziness, watching too many box sets, and eating and drinking too much, but there is no excuse to not start exercising to get fit and stay healthy.

UK Government Chancellor Rishi Sunak has announced extra measures to support workers and businesses throughout winter, including a furlough scheme extension paying 80 per cent of staff wages.

The way the UK does business with Europe changes from January 1, heralding a new start. All companies that trade with the EU need to act now to make sure they are set to go.

Education Promo

Digital Edition


Enjoy the
Newham Recorder
e-edition today


Education and Training


Read the
Education and Training
e-edition today

Read Now

Latest from the Newham Recorder