High achievers honoured

SPORTING achievers from across Newham were recognised for their efforts at a ceremony at the Houses of Parliament.

A total of 49 youngsters from the Newham All Star Sports Academy attended the Annual Achievement Award Ceremony. There were 12 nominations for different categories ranging from most improved player to sports personality of the year. The awards have been created by young people from Newham by visiting other such ceremonies. They chose the categories to reflect current achievements of the young people and NASSA partners. The event provides an opportunity for NASSA to recognise the achievements, hard work and dedication of a range of people reflected in the chosen categories.

They also provide young people from across the borough the opportunity to visit the seat of democracy and gain an understanding of the significance of politics and political decisions to their lives. Prime Minister David Cameron sent a letter, which was read out at the opening ceremony. They are pictured left.

The ceremony was opened by East Ham MP Stephen Timms, Patron of NASSA, who talked about the importance of young talented players making the most out of every opportunity they have and working hard to achieve their goals. The nominees spoke of the positive impact that basketball, and in particular the NASSA programme, had had on their lives.

Natasha Hart NASSA Director said: “It is important that we recognise the talent and achievements of our players, teams and others who play such a key role in helping these young people to succeed. We had a great turn out despite the snow and I hope that the awards go some way towards helping people to understand how much we appreciate their hard work and dedication.”

The winners are: Coach of the Year – Kelvin Chris Facey; Most Improved Player (Primary school): Norman Cistovas; Most Improved Player boy (Secondary School): Jonathan James; Most Improved Player girl (Secondary School): Abisola Oginni ; Young Official of the Year; Alisha Laurent-Smart; Primary school of the Year: Sir John Heron ; Secondary school of the Year- Rokeby School; Volunteer Parent of the Year: Jennifer Laurent-Smart; Young Volunteer of the Year : Jany Rahman; Young Leader of the Year : Alex Semanda.

Sports personality of the Year: Kevin East; Partnership award : East London Business Alliance