Police officers rewarded for Forest Gate drug dealer jailing

Forest Gate police officers have been awarded for their part in the capture and jailing of seven heroin and crack cocaine dealers.

Police officers have been rewarded for their part in the capture and jailing of seven heroin and crack cocaine dealers.

Between January and November last year, the Forest Gate South safer neighbourhood team, together with Newham Council officers, were made aware of incidents of antisocial behaviour caused by a group of 40 young men.

People in Vale Road and nearby estate blocks were being intimated by the group and complained of criminal damage, spitting, littering and cannabis smoking.

Sgt Alistair Hudson and Ashley Parsons, a council crime reduction officer, combined their resources.

With the aid of CCTV, eight members of the group were identified as dealing class A drugs. Seven were then arrested and charged with the supply of crack cocaine and heroin. They were found guilty and received jail sentences of between one and three years.

The success of the operation led Newham Borough to win a gold award at the Problem Orientated Partnership awards at Scotland Yard on June 18.

Most Read

The team also received �1,000 to assist with further problem solving within their area.

Sgt Hudson said: “One victim, felt so unsafe in her own home that she’d moved away. She has now returned and told us how grateful she is for the improvement.”

“One parent told us that she can now have the windows open in warmer weather because there’s no screaming and shouting outside.

“She’s also told us how brilliant it is that her eight-year-old son’s reading has massively improved because he can now concentrate on his homework in the evenings.

Newham Police said the team has also overseen a 75 per cent reduction in complaints to the council - exceeding a 25 per cent target.

Rena Sodhi, chief executive of Safer London Foundation, added: “The POP Awards provide an invaluable platform for sharing local community achievements and good practice and I offer my congratulations to this year’s winners.