Voting has closed in polling to decide the next Mayor of London and assembly members to represent different parts of the capital.

Electors went to the ballot boxes between 7am and 10pm today (May 2) to choose who they want to sit in City Hall across the next term.

The voting system has changed for the Mayor of London to a first-past-the-post system, in line with general elections.

Newham Recorder: Sadiq Khan is seeking another term as mayorSadiq Khan is seeking another term as mayor (Image: PA)

This sees voters make just one choice, rather than two under the previous supplementary method.

Ballots are being counted at different locations across the capital, with the ExCeL hosting results for all the constituencies of Bexley and Bromley, City and East (including Newham, Barking and Dagenham, City of London and Tower Hamlets), Croydon and Sutton, Greenwich and Lewisham and Havering and Redbridge.

  • City & East was won by Mr Khan with 108,977 votes, compared with Ms Hall's 38,626.
  • Croydon & Sutton was won by Ms Hall with 78,790 votes, compared with Mr Khan's 59,482.
  • Susan Hall has taken Bexley and Bromley in south London. She received 111,216 votes, compared to Mr Khan's 48,952.
  • Mr Khan has won Greenwich & Lewisham with 83,792 votes, compared with Ms Hall's 36,822.
  • The Conservatives won Havering & Redbridge with 82, 859 votes, and Ms Hall had 50,780.

The counts for Barnet and Camden and Enfield and Haringey will be held at Alexandra Palace, while the Brent and Harrow count will be held at Harrow Leisure Centre. 

  • Barnet and Camden was won by Mr Khan with 70,984 votes. Ms Hall came second with 57,465 votes.
  • The incumbent mayor won Enfield and Haringey in north London with 82,725 votes, over half more than Ms Hall's 41,389.
  • Ms Hall won Brent & Harrow with 66, 151 votes, beating Mr Khan's 58,743.

Meanwhile the Copper Box Arena will host the count for the North East (Waltham Forest, Hackney and Islington), Oval Cricket Ground will host the count for Lambeth and Southwark and Westway Sport Centre will host the count for Merton and Wandsworth. 

  • Labour has won the North East, meaning incumbent mayor Sadiq Khan held the area. Mr Khan received 127,455 votes votes, compared with Susan Hall's 34,099.
  • Mr Khan won Lambeth and Southwark by 106,861 votes to Ms Hall's 26, 347.
  • The sitting mayor also won Merton and Wandsworth with 84,725 votes, compared with Ms Hall's 50,976.

The count for South West (Hounslow, Kingston upon Thames, Richmond upon Thames) will be held at St Mary's University, Twickenham, West Central (Westminster, Hammersmith and Fulham, Kensington and Chelsea) will be held at Olympia and the count for Ealing and Hillingdon will be held at Marquee, Walpole Park. 

  • Mr Khan won the South West constituency with 77,011 votes. Susan Hall came a close second with 68,856 votes.
  • The sitting mayor also took West Central with 54,481 votes, compared with Ms Hall's 43,405.
  • And the Conservatives held Ealing & Hillington after Ms Hall secured 75, 396 votes and Mr Khan 73, 257.

London Assembly Members announced...


  • Merton & Wandsworth's newest London Assembly constituency member  has been announced. The Labour Party's Leonie Cooper has retained her incumbency with 77,235 votes, whilst Conservative candidate Ellie Cox received 49,812.
  • Len Duvall has been named Greenwich and Lewisham's London Assembly constituency member. The result has continued his incumbency streak for Labour since the 2000 election. He received 80,101 votes, with Karin Tearle receiving the next highest vote count of 28,294.
  • Unmesh Desai has been re-elected into the role as City & East's London Assembly Member. The 2016 incumbent received 99,570 votes in this year's polls. Conservative candidate Freddie Downing received 29,083 votes, whilst Green Party candidate Joe Hudson-Small received 29,073.
  • Neil Garratt is Croydon & Sutton's Assembly Member for the second time. Garratt succeeded in the 2021 elections and has continued his incumbency after receiving 64,674 votes. Labour candidate Maddie Henson received 54,380 votes.
  • Lambeth & Southwark's electorates have re-elected Labour candidate Marina Ahmad. Ahmad will now continue her incumbency following her 2021 win. She received 84,768 votes in the 2024 polls. Claire Sheppard of the Green Party was runner up, with 35,144 votes. 
  • Sem Moema will be representing North East constituents for the second term in a row on the London Assembly. She carried out her first term following the 2021 elections. The Labour candidate received 104,088 votes, whilst Green candidate Antoinette Fernandez accumulated 44,342.
  • Labour's Anne Clarke continues her incumbency for Barnet & Camden on the London Assembly. She received 70,749 votes as opposed to Conservative's Julie Redmond who got 51,606 votes.
  • Enfield & Haringey's long-term constituency assembly member Joanne McCartney has continued her winning-streak, receiving 78,880 votes. She has retained the position since 2004. Conservative candidate Calum McGillivray won 32,778. 
  • A new constituency assembly member has been named for Bexley & Bromley. Thomas Turrell of the Conservative Party entered the elections for his first time this year, receiving 90,103 votes. Labour's Kevin McKenna received 50,174 votes. 
  • Krupesh Hirani will continue to represent Brent & Harrow constituents as London Assembly member after receiving 63,867 votes. He has held the position since 2021. Conservative candidate Stefan Bucovineanul-Voloseniuc received 55,039. 
  • Havering & Redbridge electorates have re-elected Keith Prince as their constituency assembly member. The Conservative candidate will now continue his incumbency ongoing since his first success in 2016. Prince won 65,037 votes, whilst Labour candidate Guy Williams won 49,561. 

We will update this story below as the results come in.